top of page
Search
  • Jacquelyn Bruun

To Hear My Own Voice

In the college world, we are constantly surrounded by other people. Whether it is our roommate, our significant other, our friends, our team, whoever it maybe, it can be hard to find quality alone time. Even for an extrovert, this kind of time can be extremely valuable. Time spent on your own can increase productivity, creativity, and even alleviate depressive feelings.

On my first day moving in to Berry, myself and all of the incoming Freshman class were told to “Be Berry”. While being an involved and active member of the campus is wonderful and truly makes Berry College what it is, I took this as try everything, do everything, be everywhere. Do it all while still maintaining a job, scholarship, and good grades. And in the first few weeks, it was a roller coaster of fun, but I got minimal sleep, didn’t test as well as I would have liked, and probably didn’t call my parents enough. It has taken me two years to learn that there is nothing wrong with taking time for yourself.

For me, the occasional afternoon spent alone has tons of benefits. When I’m alone, I get my most creative thoughts – that I later put on paper or canvas. I remember most of the things I’ve continuously forgotten throughout the day. My thought process is at it’s clearest and I get work done at a pace that is effective without being stressful…not to mention I get to work in a nap after I’ve checked off a few things from my to-do list.What defines alone time is different for everyone. Oprah once said, “Alone time is when I distance myself from the voices of the world so I can hear my own.”For me, being alone can be time spent relaxing in the dorm watching Gilmore Girls, taking a nap in my Eno, or even cramming for a test at Swift & Finch or Panera. For me, “alone time” is time that I don’t have to impress anyone, I can focus on my own thoughts, and I’m able to ground and center myself.

By taking this time, I come to understand myself and my needs much better. Then, when I’m spending time with others, I am able to be more present and put my focus on appreciating the friends and family around me. Learning to value being alone has taught me to fully enjoy the people I love.

Jacquelyn Bruun

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Change Can Be Scary! 

If you know me, you know flexibility has never been my strong suit. In fact, when interviewers ask the infamous question, “What’s your...

College Athletes: A Cry for Help

There is such a stigma out there that athletes have it all. They are supposed to be seen as the people that have everything together. The...

Comments


bottom of page