top of page
Search
  • Jacquelyn Bruun

Meet The Peer Educators: Jacquelyn


Welcome back or welcome to Berry! In order to kick off our blog this semester, the Peer Educators will be sharing a little bit about themselves and why they do what they do! Please enjoy.

Jacquelyn Bruun – Franklin, NC (Junior)



I am a second year Peer Educator, a junior nursing student, and a lifetime lover of the mountains. Through my work with the Peer Education program, I have found myself increasingly passionate in learning about and sharing health information with my fellow students. I love to advocate on the awareness of mental health and the promotion of mental well-being. You know that college is a time of stress and no sleep, but did you know that more than 20% of college students live with anxiety and 13.5% suffer from depression? The Peer Educators endeavor to keep those statistics from rising by presenting the campus with relevant information and bringing students together for fun and meaningful programs.

I believe that Berry is a very special place with a culture of care and support, but we often get too caught up in the business of ‘Being Berry’ that sometimes we fall short in caring for ourselves.

I am excited to say that the Peer Educators are planning an awesome year. Some of the topics I look forward to this year include letter writing, sleep hygiene, stress management, “The Whoa’s and Woes of Online Dating: How to Swipe Right”, and of course: Pet Therapy.

When not studying for exams, in the office, or at clinicals, I can be found rereading Harry Potter, binge watching Netflix (Stranger Things, anyone?), or petting any dog I can find. (two of my favorites pictured below)

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Change Can Be Scary! 

If you know me, you know flexibility has never been my strong suit. In fact, when interviewers ask the infamous question, “What’s your...

College Athletes: A Cry for Help

There is such a stigma out there that athletes have it all. They are supposed to be seen as the people that have everything together. The...

Comments


bottom of page