top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHope Heutter

A Love Letter to my Job

Updated: Sep 22, 2023

Dear Peer Educator Program,

Writing this letter has been difficult because it’s bittersweet to think that this is our last semester together. If you would have told me on my first day at Berry that I would be in a student leadership position for three out of my four years here, I would’ve said you were crazy. I wasn’t looking to be a leader, but somehow it found me (and I am so thankful it did!). I attribute so much of my growth throughout college to the Peer Educator Program.




I decided to apply to be a Peer Educator one day on a whim. I had seen the Pot Thoughts in the bathroom stalls and was following the Peer Educators on Instagram, but I didn’t know a ton about them. I saw that they were hiring and, looking for a new student work position, thought to myself, I should just go for it. In high school, I created a suicide prevention campaign and so I thought the Peer Educator position would be a great way to continue this passion. I filled out an application, brought it to the office, and interviewed with the Director of Counseling. Soon, I was getting a call letting me know that I was going to be a Peer Educator!




I was so nervous for the first week of training and for the job in general. I wasn’t sure what I had to offer and how I would fit into the team. Thankfully, I had such an amazing supervisor and coworkers who encouraged me to speak up, find my voice, and explore my passions. I jumped right into programming for Suicide Prevention Month, and I found my strengths in creating visually appealing content (most of the content you saw that year was designed by me!) and presenting to on-campus groups (it turns out I love public speaking!).



Every year, I have experienced more and more growth. My first year, I learned how to research, create content, plan events, and collaborate with my team. My second year, I took on more responsibility, helping the new Peer Educators step into their roles and responsibilities. Now, I have the privilege and honor of leading the team of Peer Educators. Each year has taught me new lessons about leadership, teamwork, hard work, responsibility, and myself.




One of my favorite things about this job has been the freedom to program on the topics that I am interested in and passionate about. Not only that, but I love seeing things that my coworkers create as a result of their passions. It is incredible how much passion can exist in one office. I’ve been able to plan tabling events, write blog posts, and create Instagram posts about suicide prevention. Rachel Mohd programmed on dealing with stigma as a person of color and wrote about her own experiences confronting stereotypes. Katie Bevers programmed on self-advocacy and civil discourse during a turbulent time in politics. Bailey Nelms and Abi Baluta programmed on bystander intervention while interning with the Sexual Assault Center of Northwest Georgia. Lucy Hicks wrote about her experience dealing with chronic illness in college and started a neurodiversity club. Teagan Fritts is working on programming targeting student athletes as our first student athlete Peer Educator. These are just a few of the many people whose many passions have inspired me throughout the last three years.



The people that I have met through this job are some of the most compassionate, hard-working, and inspiring people that I have had the pleasure of knowing. My time as a Peer Educator has blessed me with 13 phenomenal coworkers and the most supportive, encouraging supervisor. The faces I see around the Counseling Center are kind and genuine. I’ve made connections all over campus with both students and faculty. I hope that all these relationships will stick with me for a long time to come.

Over my three years as a Peer Educator, I’ve contributed to 36 Pot Thoughts, given 10 presentations, planned 20 tabling events, led 7 Peer Body Project groups, made over 68 Instagram posts, written 5 blog posts, and counting! But, as long as one thing I did had a positive impact on one person at Berry, all of the hard work that I’ve put in is completely worth is. The work that I do is work that I am proud of. Martha Berry said, “I pray that I may leave the world more beautiful than when I found it.” Being a Peer Educator has given me the unique opportunity to contribute meaningfully to the Berry community, hopefully helping me to leave it a little more beautiful than when I found it. I’m not quite ready to say goodbye to you, but I will always be thankful for all of the memories created, the experiences had, the relationships formed, and the opportunities that you’ve given me.

With love,

Hope Huetter

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Change Can Be Scary! 

If you know me, you know flexibility has never been my strong suit. In fact, when interviewers ask the infamous question, “What’s your...

College Athletes: A Cry for Help

There is such a stigma out there that athletes have it all. They are supposed to be seen as the people that have everything together. The...

Σχόλια


bottom of page